Wednesday, April 4, 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Faculty Learning Community

0100 Wednesday 11:00 AM-12:00 PM

Kilbourn

Supporting Difference: Faculty Learning Community on Teaching Controversial Topics Brunch

Sponsor: Amy Aldridge Sanford, First Vice President

Facilitators: Stephanie Rollie Rodriguez, Texas A&M University, Corpus Christi

C. Kyle Rudick, University of Northern Iowa

Jennifer V. Martin Emami, Texas Woman's University

Participants: Nora Cox, Missouri State University

Annette N. Hamel, Western Michigan University Jessica M. W. Kratzer, Northern Kentucky University Sarah Turner McGowen, Northeastern State University

Christine L. North, Ohio Northern University

Anji L. Phillips, Bradley University

Justin J. Rudnick, Minnesota State University, Mankato

Sarah J. Steimel, Weber State University

Jennifer L. Willis-Rivera, University of Wisconsin, River Falls

This is a closed session intended for the members of the Faculty Learning Community listed here.

0101 Wednesday 1:00-5:00 PM

Kilbourn

Supporting Difference: Faculty Learning Community on Teaching Controversial Topics Session I

Sponsor: Amy Aldridge Sanford, First Vice President

Facilitators: Stephanie Rollie Rodriguez, Texas A&M University, Corpus Christi

C. Kyle Rudick, University of Northern Iowa

Jennifer V. Martin Emami, Texas Woman's University

Participants: Nora Cox, Missouri State University

Annette N. Hamel, Western Michigan University
Jessica M. W. Kratzer, Northern Kentucky University
Sarah Turner McGowen, Northeastern State University

Christine L. North, Ohio Northern University

Anji L. Phillips, Bradley University

Justin J. Rudnick, Minnesota State University, Mankato Sarah J. Steimel, Weber State University Jennifer L. Willis-Rivera, University of Wisconsin, River Falls

This is a closed session intended for the members of the Faculty Learning Community listed here.

0102 Wednesday 1:00-4:00 PM

Juneau

Central States Communication Association Preconference: Beyond Academia: Translating Communication Research for Public Audiences and Social Change

Sponsor: M. Chad McBride, Second Vice President Chair: M. Chad McBride, Second Vice President

Presenters: Betsy Wackernagel Bach, University of Montana

Lawrence R. Frey, University of Colorado Amanda Holman, Creighton University

Sandra G. Petronio, Indiana University Purdue University, Indianapolis

Stacy Tye-Williams, Iowa State University

Scholars in the Central States Communication Association and the Communication Studies discipline have a strong record of scholarship with the potential to contribute to discourses in the popular media, to make positive change in our communities, and to help the lives of people in different contexts. While our textbooks and classrooms are a place where this scholarship is translated for students, the goal of this preconference is to think about ways that we can translate our scholarship more audiences reaching beyond our campuses and academic conversations. The panelists invited to participate have had success with either getting their work into popular media and/or using their communication scholarship for social change. We will learn from their strategies and use the time to brainstorm additional ways that we can take our work into these different contexts.

Anyone attending this preconference session must register in advance. Please visit the CSCA website to check availability and to register.



Central States Communication Association Executive Committee Meeting

Participants: Blair Thompson, President

Amy Aldridge Sanford, First Vice President M. Chad McBride, Second Vice President

Shawn T. Wahl, Past President Jimmie Manning, Executive Director

Chad C. Edwards, Incoming Executive Director

Kenneth A. Lachlan, Journal Editor

Jeffrey T. Child, Finance Committee Chair

Debra J. Ford, Member at Large **Joy L. Daggs**, Member at Large

Anna Wright, States Advisory Council Chair

0108 Wednesday 7:30-9:00 PM

Lobby

Central States Communication Association Staff Dinner

Participants: **Jimmie Manning**, Executive Director

Chad C. Edwards, Incoming Executive Director

Rebecca M. Johnson, Assistant to the Executive Director Katherine J. Denker, Convention Exhibits Manager Heather McLaughlin, Conference Technical Director

Tiffany R. Wang, Newsletter Editor

Sarah J. Steimel, Newsletter Book Review Editor

This dinner is limited to the volunteer members of the Central States Communication Staff listed here.

