Journal of Communication Pedagogy

Editor

Scott A. Myers Department of Communication Studies, West Virginia University

Consulting Editors

Mary Ann Danielson Angie Jerome Alan K. Goodboy David T. McMahan Shannon Borke VanHorn

Editorial Board

Tony E. Adams, Bradley University Brenda J. Allen, University of Colorado Denver LaKesha Anderson, National Communication Association Ahmet Atay, College of Wooster Betsy Wackernagel Bach, University of Montana Phil Backlund, Central Washington University Melissa L. Beall, University of Northern Iowa Steven A. Beebe, Texas State University Karla Mason Bergen, College of Saint Mary Keith Berry, University of South Florida Nicholas David Bowman, West Virginia University Maria Brann, IUPUI Melissa A. Broeckelman-Post, George Mason University Jay Brower, Western Connecticut State University Nancy Brule, Bethel University Kerry Byrnes-Loinette, Collin College Jeffrey T. Child, Kent State University Deanna P. Dannels, North Carolina State University Ann Darling, University of Utah Katherine J. Denker, Ball State University Jayson L. Dibble, Hope College Linda B. Dickmeyer, University of Wisconsin-LaCrosse Randy K. Dillon, Missouri State University Sara A. Mehltretter Drury, Wabash College Autumn Edwards, Western Michigan University Isa N. Engleberg, Prince George's Community College Deanna L. Fassett, San José State University Jerry D. Feezel, Kent State University Debra J. Ford, Creighton University Ann Bainbridge Frymier, Miami University Zachary W. Goldman, Illinois College Kathryn B. Golsan, Southern Illinois University Carbondale Alberto González, Bowling Green State University Lisa K. Hanasono, Bowling Green State University Katherine Grace Hendrix, University of Memphis Marian L. Houser, Texas State University Angela M. Hosek, Ohio University Stephen K. Hunt, Illinois State University David H. Kahl, Jr., Penn State Erie, The Behrend College Jeff Kerssen-Griep, University of Portland Erika L. Kirby, Creighton University

Jeffrey Kuznekoff, Miami University Kenneth A. Lachlan, University of Connecticut Derek R. Lane, University of Kentucky Katie Lever, Western Connecticut State University Alison M. Lietzenmayer, Old Dominion University Lance R. Lippert, Illinois State University Irwin Mallin, Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne Jimmie Manning, Northern Illinois University Matthew M. Martin, West Virginia University Joseph P. Mazer, Clemson University Mike Milford, Auburn University Lauren Morgan, College of DuPage Sherwyn Morreale, University of Colorado Colorado Springs Donna R. Pawlowski, Bemidji State University Sandra L. Pensoneau-Conway, Southern Illinois University Carbondale C. Kyle Rudick, University of Northern Iowa Laura D. Russell, Denison University Amy Aldridge Sanford, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi Deanna Sellnow, University of Central Florida Cheri J. Simonds, Illinois State University Andrea Lambert South, Northern Kentucky University Danielle M. Stern, Christopher Newport University Candice Thomas-Maddox, Ohio University-Lancaster Blair Thompson, Western Kentucky University Melissa F. Tindage, California State University, Los Angeles Scott Titsworth, Ohio University Satoshi Toyosaki, Southern Illinois University Carbondale Joseph M. Valenzano III, University of Dayton Shawn T. Wahl, Missouri State University Jennifer H. Waldeck, Chapman University Justin D. Walton, Cameron University Tiffany R. Wang, University of Montevallo Susan M. Ward, Delaware County Community College Sara Chudnovsky Weintraub, Regis College Nathan G. Webb, Belmont University David A. Wendt, Iowa Weslevan University Rich West, Emerson College Joshua Westwick, South Dakota State University Anna M. Wright, Illinois State University Qin Zhang, Fairfield University

CSCA Officer List

Amy Aldridge Sanford, President Chad McBride, First Vice President Alberto González, Second Vice President Blair Thompson, Immediate Past President Jimmie Manning, Executive Director Joy Daggs, Member at Large Katherine J. Denker, Member at Large Jeffrey T. Child, Finance Committee Chair Kenneth Lachlan, *Communication Studies* Editor Anna Wright, States Advisory Council Representative

Journal of Communication Pedagogy (ISSN: 2578-2568) is published annually each spring by the Central States Communication Association, 207 Watson Hall, DeKalb, IL 60115. The journal is open access and available from the Central States Communication Association website (http://www.csca-net.org). Production Editor: Jimmie Manning (jman@niu.edu).

Copyright © **2018 Central States Communication Association.** All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored, transmitted, or disseminated in any form or by any means without prior written permission from the Central States Communication Association. Individuals may print or photocopy one copy of each article for personal research use or for learning purposes. The publisher assumes no responsibility for any statements of fact or opinion expressed in the published papers. **Permissions.** To secure permission information, contact the current Executive Director for the Central States Communication Association (contact information available at http://www.csca-net.org).