## ERIC Business Meeting University A-Madison Concourse Hotel 12:30 pm-March 31, 2022

Attendees: Amy Aldridge Sanford (Vice Chair), Nurbayort Bilge, Jacki Brucher Moore, Kathy Denker, Matt Heinz, Scarlett Hester, Gordana Lazic, Jimmie Manning, Eddah Mutua (Chair), Dorthy Pennington, David Wendt (Secretary) and Kallia Wright.

Chair Eddah Mutua called the meeting to order at 12:35 pm.

Jimmie Manning and Nurbayortt Bilge moved to approve the minutes. Approved unanimously.

Eddah thanked numerous people for their help during the year. She added a special thanks to those members who jumped in with adding panels at the last minute. We had nine panels, seven paper panels and two discussion panels submitted.

The Top Paper award this year: "I looked in the mirror. I was like, 'Where?" Grappling with Ethnic and Racial Identity After Receiving Direct-to-Consumer Genetic Test Results". Authors: Amy Aldridge Sanford-Middle Tennessee State University, Rose Banda-Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, Carmen Tejeda Delgado-Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, Patricia Lynn Hernandez-Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, Delaney Vampran-Foster-Mississippi State University and Angela Walker-Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi.

The CCT (Carolyn Calloway Thomas) speaker series is welcoming Dr. Molefi Asante immediately before the President's Reception Saturday evening. The CSCA Executive Committee is allowing attendees to the event with no cost. Possible speakers for next year could include Brenda Allen or Kathy Squires. The future of CCT Speaker Series will be discussed as the fund must be increased. Hopefully members will donate money to increase the fund so the responsibility will not be limited to a few individuals.

Election: Per the bylaws, vice chair Amy Aldridge Sanford will ascend to chair. Nurbayort Bilge and Scarlett Hester were nominated for Secretary. Scarlett Hester was elected. Nurbayort Bilge and David Wendt were nominated for Vice Chair. Nurbayort Bilge was elected as Vice Chair. CCT Speaker Series Committee member will be Gordana Lazic.

Aldridge Sanford spoke concerning the 2023 convention in St. Louis. The discussion focused on increasing the number of submissions as the number of panels per group will be based on the number of submissions.

Kallia Wright spoke on the Faculty Learning Committee. The committee will select scholars early in their career and graduate students and provide a home base for

diverse scholars. The theme for the 2022-23 academic year will be Mental Health in Academia. These selected scholars will present their research at CSCA 2023. Interested scholars should contact Dr. Wright for more information.

Meeting adjourned at 1:45 pm with a motion by Nurbayort Bilge.

Respectfully submitted

David Wendt, Secretary