Basic Course Interest Group Business Meeting Agenda April 4th, 2024 CSCA 2024 – Grand Rapids, MI Grand View A / 3:30pm-4:45pm EDT

Chair – Caroline Waldbuesser (Sam Houston State University) **Vice Chair/Secretary** – Joshua Young (Divine Word College Seminary)

1. Approval of 2023 Minutes

2. 2023 Convention Planner's Report

3. 2024 Convention Planner's Report

4. Awards

a. Douglas M. Trank – Top Paper Award

- i. Modality Does Not Matter: An Examination of Public Speaking Apprehension Reduction in the Basic Course Mike Allen
 - 1. Elizabeth Ribarsky, University of Illinois Springfield

b. Melissa Beal - Top Panel Award

- i. With Diverse Vision and Unified Voice: Actionable Advocacy for the Foundational Communication Course and its Constituents (Melissa Beall Award for Top Panel)
 - 1. Joshua Young, Divine Word College
 - 2. Allison Duncan Brenneise, Independent Scholar
 - 3. Tiffany R. Wang, University of Montevallo
 - 4. Amy Aldridge Sanford, Middle Tennessee State University
 - 5. Gordana Lazić, Missouri State University
 - 6. Chair: Xinyue Liu, North Dakota State University

5. Election

- Secretary
- Special Election: Vice Chair for 2025—will plan for 2026 conference

6. Bylaws Discussion

- 7. Funded Awards Discussion
- 8. Next Year's Conference Ideas
- 9. Announcements / Other Business
- 10. Passing the gavel
- 11. Adjournment