2023 CSCA Political Communication Interest Group Business Meeting Minutes

Prepared by Joel Reed on behalf of Joshua Atkinson (acting as Chair for meeting)

1. Call to Order Welcome 3:02 pm, Josh Atkinson, Bowling Green State University

- a. Introduction by Joshua Atkinson
- b. The absence of Chair Bryan Paul and Vice Chair Jihye Park

2. Approval of Minutes

- Postponed because not yet provided but will be a virtual vote
 - Period for comment
- Update on leadership

3. A note from William Bryan Paul

4. Presentation of Awards

- Auer Award- Top Student Paper Katelyn E. Brooks
- Top Paper- Joel Lansing Reed
- Judith Trent Award- Dianne Bystrom presents Trent Award to Dr. Freddie Jennings (University of Arkansas)
- Top Panel Award- Drs. Antonio de Velasco, Molly Hardy, Steve Rahko, Byron Craig, Elizabeth Dudash-Buskirk, Fernando Severino, Joel Lansing Reed, and Calvin Coker

5. **Announcement of next year's theme**: Incoherence

- Ideas for next year's conference=
 - The incoherence of political ideologies in 21st century
 - Ford Library Opportunities
 - Arg and Forensics Opportunities for Events- Tour and Reception with Arg and Forensics?
 Perhaps with Ford Library
 - o Incoherence of political communication
 - Questions of indictment what does it mean for the presidency?
 - Conservative responses to the indictment
 - Questions of Law and Justice
 - Questions of Ford's Pardon
 - o The incoherence of public opinion polling and election outcomes or legislative action
 - Assault on trans rights
 - o Incoherence of divisional boundaries and sub-field boundaries
 - Social media and tech, politics, and relationships
 - Villainizing of teachers, drag queens, protection of children
 - Herschel Walker, Marianne Williamson
 - o Extremism online
 - Practitioners and other publics who might submit

6. Other new business

- Trent Award
 - o Reminder that eligible nominations carry over for three years

- o Reminder that terms are staggering
 - Ryan will rotate off after 2024 conference
 - Kelly will rotate off in 2025 conference
 - New member will rotate off in 2026 conference
- Freddie Jennings selected as Trent award committee member (will rotate off after 2026 conference)
- Reminder to submit for NCA Awards- Kelly Winfrey

7. Secretary Nominations

- Joel Reed- nominates Xavier Scruggs- University of Missouri
- Seconded by Kelly Winfrey
- Move to vote- Dianne Bystrom
- Second- Daniel Chick
- Xavier Elected

8. Motion to adjourn

- Moved- Kelly Winfrey
- Second- Daniel Chick
- Adjourned by Joshua Atkinson