Intercultural Communication Interest Group Business Meeting Central States Communication Association April 1, 2023

April 1, 2023

11:00 a.m. to 12:15 p.m. (location - Sterling 2)

Executive members

- Chair: Seokhoon Ahn, Central Washington University
- Vice Chair: Andrew Donofrio, St. Lawrence University
- Secretary: Emi Kanemoto, Southern Illinois University Carbondale

Number of attendees: 21

I. Call to Order & Welcome

- a. Seokhoon Ahn made a call to order at 11:00 a.m.
- b. Seokhoon Ahn introduced Andrew Donofrio (vice chair) and Emi Kanemoto (secretary).

II. Approval of 2022 minutes

- a. The 2022 business meeting minutes were sent by e-mail to all members of Intercultural Communication Interest Group two days prior to the 2023 Central State Communication Association Convocation.
- b. Emi Kanemoto showed the 2022 minutes on the screen in the room.
- c. Emi Kanemoto read out the 2022 minutes.
- d. John Baldwin made a motion to accept the minutes.
- e. Carolyn Calloway-Thomas seconded the motion.
- f. The minutes were approved.

III. Report on 2023 submissions

- a. Submission
 - i. 11 competitive papers were submitted.
 - 10 papers were accepted.
 - 1 manuscript were rejected.
 - For comparison, IC interest group received 6 competitive papers for the 2022 conference.
 - ii. 2 discussion panel
 - iii. 0 paper panel submission
 - iv. 1 special panel created by Seokhoon Ahn
 - v. 1 co-sponsored panel created by Seokhoon Ahn
- b. Panel slots including business meeting: 8
- c. Panel distribution
 - i. 1 business meeting
 - ii. 3 competitive paper sessions
 - iii. 3 discussion sessions
 - iv. 1 special session for museum tour

- d. Solicitation of reviewers
 - i. 24 individuals served as reviewers for the 2023 conference.
 - For comparison, 11 individuals served as reviewers for the 2022 conference.

IV. Top Paper Awards

- a. Top faculty paper: "Being the Needle in the Haystack:" The addition of "blending" and "co-cultural networking" as practices to Orbe's (1998) Co-Cultural Theory by Ahmet Akoy and Amy H. Heuman
- b. Top student paper: Voices from Palestine: *Perceptions of Censorship on Palestinian's Use of Social Media* by Cem İsmail Addemir
- c. Top discussion panel: Institutional Efforts of Empowerment and Inclusion of Silenced Voices
 - i. No monetary award
 - ii. Honorary mentions & certificates this year (based on the bylaw, Intercultural Communication Interest Group does not have Top Discussion Panel awards)
 - Chair: EunYoung Lee
 - Presenters: Nurhayat Bilge, Anjana Mudambi, LaKresha Graham, Matthew D. Petrunia, Maria Ines Marino

V. New Business

- a. Discussion about Intercultural Communication Interest Group Bylaws (2014 version)
 - i. Article VI (Nomination Committee):
 - John Baldwin made a motion to discuss Article VI.
 - Anjana Mudambi seconded to the motion.

Article VI: "A nomination committee shall comprise of three individuals from the Intercultural Communication interest group that will provide two serving officers a list of proposed candidates to service office in the future."

According to Article XI (Amendment of Bylaws), amendment petitions must be submitted to the Chair at least forty days prior to the annual meeting. Thus, we focused on "discussion" and decided an official change would be made later.

Some discussion points included, but not limited to:

- Removing nomination committee from by-law
- The possibility of self and peer nomination in advance before the business meeting (The chair can collect the names.)
- Nomination from floor
- ii. Ad hoc bylaw committee:
 - Carolyn Calloway-Thomas made the suggestion to form a committee to review the bylaw
 - John Baldwin made motion to discuss the potential bylaw committee.
 - Nurhayat Bilge seconded to the motion.

Some discussion points included, but not limited to:

- Formation of ad hoc bylaw committee
- Executive committee members as reviewers
- Former executive committee members as reviewers
- Experienced scholars as reviewers
- John Baldwin made a motion to vote to form an ad hoc bylaw committee.
- Hsin-I Sydney Yueh seconded the motion.

The members would be John Baldwin, Carolyn Calloway-Thomas, and Andrew Donofrio (Listed in the alphabetical order)

- Result of vote: unanimous
- iii. Article IX (Awards)
 - The Article IX indicates top competitive paper and top student paper award.
 - Ad hoc bylaw committee of the interest group needs to discuss adding a top discussion panel.
- b. Nominations/elections of new officers
 - i. Vice-chair:
 - Seokhoon Ahn opened the floor for the nomination.

John Baldwin nominated Eun Young Lee.

Eun Young Lee rejected the nomination.

Eddah Mutua nominated Ahmet Aksoy.

Ahmet Aksoy accepted the nomination.

- Anjana Mudambi made a motion to close the nomination.
- Sasha Allgayer seconded the motion.
- Result of vote:

Ahmet Aksoy was elected (unanimous)

- ii. Secretary:
 - Seokhoon Ahn opened the floor for the nomination.

Eddah Mutua nominated Kim Omachinski.

Kim Omachinski accepted the nomination.

- Carolyn Calloway-Thomas made a motion to close the nomination.
- Sasha Allgayer made a second to the motion.
- Result of vote:

Kim Omachinski was elected (unanimous)

- c. Reports from Thriving Together: IC and ERICC Panel
 - i. Some discussion points included but not limited to:
 - ERICC is for advocacy for members.
 - Topics about issues on campus (academia) can be possibly submitted to The Ethnicity, Race, International, and Class Concerns Caucus.
 - Topics about issues outside of campus (academic) can be possibly submitted to Intercultural communication interest group.

- Further conversation will be hold among the executive bords in Intercultural Communication Interest Group and The Ethnicity, Race, International, and Class Concerns Caucus.
- Need of building pipeline

Extended abstract,

Workshop for graduate students

Possibility to virtual options (pros and cons discussed)

Faculty as a pipeline (encourage faculty to suggest their students to submit papers and panels to Intercultural Communication Interest Group at Central State Communication Association (CSCA), instead of simply encouraging them to submit to CSCA generally.

- d. Discussion on 2024 convention
 - ii. Discussion on the 2024 Theme: Incoherence
 - iii. Solicitation of CSCA 2024 potential panels included but not limited to:
 - Panel featuring incoherent way of understanding each other in the U.S.
 - Panel featuring division between "us" and "them"
 - Panel featuring intercultural pedagogy
 - Panel featuring Flint water crisis in Michigan
 - Panel featuring the (lack of) hopes in our society
 - Panel featuring the (lack of) safe community

How do we imagine safe communities

What does it look like in the U.S. to have "hope" and "safe community"

- Panel featuring the process of self-critique
- Panel featuring the marginalized communities
- Panel featuring intersectionality
- Panel featuring the experience of rejection by the dominant discourse
- Panel featuring the future plan of intercultural communication
- Panel featuring Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging
- Panel featuring transnational scholars' experience in academia
- iv. Sign-up for reviewers for the 2024 convention
 - Individuals can sign up to be a reviewer by using google form

VI. Announcement of new officers

a. Chair: Andrew Donofriob. Vice Chair: Ahmet Aksoyc. Secretary: Kim Omachinski

VII. Closing

- a. Seokhoon Ahn expressed their appreciation to Emi Kanemoto and Andrew Donofrio
- b. Emi Kanemoto, Andrew Donofrio and attendees expressed their appreciation to Seokhoon Ahn
- c. Nurhayat Bilge made a motion to close the meeting.

- d. Sasha Allgayer seconded to the motion.
- e. Seokhoon Ahn adjourned the meeting at 1:45 pm.