Undergraduate Educators and Administrators Section Meeting Minutes Friday, March 31, 2023 9:30am to 10:45am – Sterling 5

Officers:

Chair: Aimee Lau, Wisconsin Lutheran College Vice-Chair: Joy Daggs, Northwest Missouri State University Secretary: Elizabeth Ribarsky, University of Illinois, Springfield

Other Attendees: Gordon Liu, Donna Pawlowski

I. Call to Order

II. Review of 2022 minutes

- A. Motion to Accept: Donna Pawlowski
- B. 2nd: Gordon Liu
- C. All voted in favor

III. Old Business

A. No old business

IV. New Business

A. Chair's Report/2023 Conference

- 1. Submissions for 2022: 1 competitive paper, which was sent to the Basic Course Division, as it seemed a better fit there; 1 panel, which was selected as top-panel quality
- 2. 4 slots for panels and 1 co-sponsored panel (including business meeting)
 - a. Thursday, 11am "These Students are Not Prepared! Meeting Students Where They Are" Chair: Becky DeGreef, University of Wisconsin-Stout Presenters: Kimberly Weismann, Williston State College; Joy Daggs, Northwest Missouri State University; Stephanie Batson, Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville; Shannon VanHorn, Valley City State University; Jacki Brucher Moore, Kirkwood Community College
 - b. Friday, 3pm "Administrator Burnout: The Perils of Leadership Positions and Lessons Learned" Chair: Elizabeth Ribarsky, University of Illinois, Springfield Presenters: Ahmet Atay, College of Wooster; Shelly Schaefer Hinck, Central Michigan University; Malynnda Johnson, Indiana State University; Amie Kincaid, University of Illinois, Springfield; Aimee Miller-Ott, Illinois State University; Adam Tyma, University of Nebraska, Omaha
 - Top Panel Saturday 12:30pm "The Department Chair/Director Experience: Bringing All Voices into the Conversation" Chair: Jennifer Willis-Rivera, University of Wisconsin-River Falls Presenters: Alberto Gonzalez, Bowling Green State University; Amy N. Heuman, Texas Tech University; Rebecca Imes, Carroll University; Amy Aldridge Sanford, Middle Tennessee State University; Amanda Martinez, Davidson College
 - d. Co-Sponsored Top Panel Saturday 11am "Silos, Silence, and Success: Navigating the Unwritten Rules of Higher Education" Chair: Scarlett Hester, Ball State University

Presenters: Kayla Thompson, Ball State University; Stephen Spates, Missouri State University; Yuping Mao, California State University, Long Beach

- e. Business Meeting
- 3. Thank you to the paper readers

Joy L. Daggs, Northwest Missouri State University Randy K. Dillon, Missouri State University Richard Murphy, McKendree University Kim Omachinski, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Rita Rahoi-Gilchrest, Minnesota State College Southeast Elizabeth Ribarsky, University of Illinois, Springfield

- C. Election of Officers
 - 1. Vice-Chair Ribarsky moves to Vice-Chair by acclimation
 - 2. Secretary Xinyue (Gordon) Liu elected as Secretary by acclimation
- V. Passing of the Gavel to Joy Daggs
- VI. CSCA 2024: Grand Rapids, MI
 - A. The 2023 conference will be held from April 2 to April 7 at the Amway Grand Plaza.
 - B. The theme of conference is: Incoherence Submission deadline Oct 6th, 11:59 pm central
 - C. Paper and Panel Readers for 2024 Conference
 - a. Please sign attendance/volunteer sheet
 - D. Conference Ideas
 - a. Transitioning to administration
 - b.
- VII. News and Announcements

VIII. Adjournment