Basic Course Interest Group

2024Business Meeting Minutes
April 4th, 2024
CSCA 2024 – Grand Rapids, MI
Grand View A / 3:30pm-4:45pm EDT

Chair- Caroline Waldbuesser, University of Missouri Vice Chair- Vacant Secretary- Joshua Young, Divine Word College

- 1. Approval of 2023 Minutes
 - Minutes were presented and approved without objection
- 2. 2024 Convention Planner's Report
 - The Interest Group was allocated 14 slots and had a 100% acceptance rate.
- 3. 2025 Convention Planner's Report
 - Jeffrey Child, incoming first vice president and program planner, announced the theme of the conference would be "Widening the Scope." Interest group planners were encouraged to promote inter-interest group and interdisciplinary opportunities for conference participation.
 - Slot allocations will follow the policy previously adopted by CSCA being based on the percentage of submissions for the conference and availability of space.

4. Awards

- Douglas M. Trank Top Paper Award
 - Modality Does Not Matter: An Examination of Public Speaking Apprehension Reduction in the Basic Course
 - Elizabeth Ribarsky, University of Illinois Springfield
- Melissa Beal Top Panel Award
 - With Diverse Vision and Unified Voice: Actionable Advocacy for the Foundational Communication Course and its Constituents (Melissa Beall Award for Top Panel)
 - Xinyue Liu, North Dakota State University; Joshua Young, Divine Word College; Allison Duncan Brenneise, Independent Scholar; Tiffany R. Wang, University of Montevallo; Amy Aldridge Sanford, Middle Tennessee State University; Gordana Lazić, Missouri State University

5. Elections

- Chair- Due to the resignation of the former vice chair, a motion was made to have the Secretary, Joshua Young, serve as Chair.
- Vice Chair- Kathryn Golsan, University of Northern Iowa, was nominated. Nominations were closed without objection, and Kathryn Golsan was elected unanimously.
- Secretary- Evan Kirksey, University of Missouri, was nominated. Nominations were closed without objection, and Evan Kirksey was elected unanimously.

6. Bylaws Discussion

• Bylaw revisions were proposed to the Interest Group to update the language to reflect actual practices since the last revisions in 2014. The proposed changes were sent to

- members in accordance with the notification requirements outlined in the BCIG and CSCA bylaws.
- Proposed changes were considered in two parts, a proposal to change the interest group name and a proposal to update practices.
 - There was a discussion about the use of the term "basic" to refer to the foundational communication course and the alternative use of "foundational". There was concern about the confusion that might develop from changing the term the discipline has used to brand and market the course, especially with no change at the National Communication Association. A written vote was taken. The motion to change the interest group name failed to receive the required % support and the name Basic Course Interest Group was retained.
 - The remaining proposed changes were language updates that more accurately reflect the practices of the interest group. A voice vote was taken and the remaining language updates were accepted without objection.

7. Funded Awards Discussion

• There was a discussion about funding of interest group awards presented by Joshua Young. The BCIG awards were created and adopted prior to CSCA's adoption of policies on minimum funds to establish an endowed award. Currently, the Trank Award is unfunded and the Beall Award endowment only funds \$25 for awarding for all panelists. Any awards funds from the interest group's operations funding from CSCA is at the discretion of the Chair and detracts from the chair's ability to use funds to grow the interest group. This operating money is often used to award some money for the interest group awards. Members were encouraged to donate to and support funding for the Beall Award endowment so that it would meet the minimum funding requirements of CSCA for interest group awards with monetary incentives.

9. Announcements / Other Business

- Angela Hosek, Editor-in-Chief of the Basic Communication Course Annual, announced the upcoming publication of the Annual and changes in the timing of submissions and publication dates for future issues. Members were highly encouraged to submit articles.
- Stevie Munz announced the Basic Communication Course Directors Conference would be held in June at the University of Nevada Las Vegas. The conference is open to all, including those that are not directors. The conference will feature new TED Talk style presentations available online.

10. Passing the gavel

 Caroline Waldbuesser thanked members for support and passed the gavel to Joshua Young as the new Chair.

11. Adjournment

Meeting was adjourned without objection.