CSCA 2024 Incoherence Convention: GIFT Business Meeting

Thursday, April 4th, 2024. 11:00am – 12:15pm ET

Meeting Minutes

Called to order at __11:05am__

In attendance:

Jaclyn Shetterly, Chair
Katie Turkiewicz, Vice-Chair
Logan Cherry
Tracie Devault (tracie.devault@mst.edu)
Samantha Sepulveva
John Phillips
Sidney Miles

Old Business:

2023's Meeting Minutes:

- 1. Additions or changes to the 2023 minutes? none
- 2. Motion to approve the 2023 Minutes:

a. Motion: Jaclynb. Seconded: Katiec. Approved: All

New Business:

Outgoing Chair: Jaclyn Shetterly Incoming Chair: Katie Turkiewicz

Incoming Vice Chair: Darcy Wente-Hahn (not present)

Update on 2024 Conference:

- 1. Submissions
 - 1. 47 GIFTS submitted!
 - 1. 42 accepted
 - 2. 5 declined
 - 2. Comparisons from previous years:
 - 1. 2023: 47 GIFTS submitted (42 accepted)
 - 2. 2022: 39 GIFTS submitted (33 accepted)
 - 3. 2021: 19 GIFTS submitted (all accepted)
 - 3. 40 Reviewers—THANK YOU!
 - 1. Each reviewer received approximately 3 submissions
 - 2. Again, thank you!

3. See Appendix A for full list of reviewers

2. Panel Format

- 1. Instead of just round tables, we've had short presentations that lead into round tables.
- 2. Strengths of this format: love it, less exhausting
- 3. Weaknesses of this format: none

3. Awards

- 1. Top Activity: "Whose Word is it Anyway?: A Word Synthesis Activity for Students. By Logan Cherry, University of Oklahoma
- 2. Top Student Activity: "A Panel for the End of the World." By John Michael Phillips, Missouri State University

Bylaws:

- 1. Change officer requirements to include graduate students (Article IV)
- 2. Update pronouns to be more inclusive. They/them
- 3. Update Article XI to reflect the repository instead of a website. We no longer use this website.
- 4. Original and updated bylaws and a Qualtrics link to vote on the changes will be sent via email following the conference. Jaclyn to update

Beyond the 2024 Conference:

- 1. GIFT Reviewers: If you are interested, please sign up!
- 2. GIFT Repository:
 - a. We will update this to include 2024 conference submission *after* the conference.
 - b. To access the repository, follow this link:
 https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1NBdmnyoHjUiXPJzp9y1dAwDbTTVoQdRV?usp=drive_link
- 3. Election for Vice Chair & Secretary
 - a. Prior nominations
 - i. Tracie Devault (present) tracie.devault@mst.edu
 - ii. Robbie Hall (will read)
 - iii. Angela Glunz (will read) elected unanimously (6-0) for secretary aglunz@utm.edu
 - b. Nominations from the floor none
 - c. Votes Tracie Devault elected unanimously (6-0) vice chair

2025 Conference:

Conference Theme: Widening the Scope

- Location: Cincinnati, OH
- Hotel: Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
- Date: April 1 6

Meeting adjourned at ____11:26am__.

Appendix A: Reviewers for 2024 Conference – THANK YOU!

Bailey C. Benedict
Julie A. Borkin
Kara Boyd
Nettie Brock

Katherine Bunsold Aileen Buslig Anna J. DeGalan Tracie Dillavou

Matthew Michael Dorr

Angela Glunz Robbie D. Hall

Mary Lynn Henningsen Katherine Kelley Howell Claudia Janssen Danyi

Kalah Kemp Stephen A. Klien Kate Ksobiech Cynthia Langham

Aimee Lau

Justin Mahutga Madison Marshall Michelle M. Matter Rachel Collier Murdock

Colleen Palmer

Sandra L. Pensoneau-Conway

Gina Reynolds Laura D. Russell Jeevanie Sammeta Samentha Sepúlveda

Jaclyn Shetterly Kara L. Starnes Kristen Stout

Amanda Grace Taylor Lindsey Thomas

Kaila Todd

Katie LaPlant Turkiewicz

Adrienne Wallace

Kimberly M. Weismann