Complete Story


CSCA - Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Caucus ... Call for Award Nominations

Central States Communication Association
Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Caucus

Call for Award Nominations

The Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Caucus of the Central States Communication Association is now accepting nominations for awards to be made at the 2020 convention at Chicago-O’Hare, IL. This year’s awards will celebrate outstanding scholarship published or presented in 2019.

Making nominations is easy. Simply click on the following link and enter some brief information about the scholarship you believe is deserving of an award:

Nomination are open for three different awards: 

The Innovator Award honors one or more outstanding books from the past five years (copyright 2015-2019). The committee may honor a single/joint-authored book, or--at their discretion--may also honor an edited collection and/or a special issue of a journal. No more than three awards (one single/joint-authored, one edited collection, one special journal issue) will be made in a given year. Any book or special journal issue nominated should address some form of gender or sexuality-oriented scholarship. That can include sexual orientation or gender identity, but it can also include feminism, queer theory, gender studies, or topics regarding general human sexuality. The winning author(s) of the book or editor(s) of the edited collection or special issue will receive a certificate. For any nominated work, at least one author or editor must be a member of the SOGI Caucus of CSCA. 

The Outstanding Scholarship Award honors up to three published articles, book chapters, or peer-reviewed artistic works from the past year (date listed on published work or date presented/exhibited will determine the eligibility date). At least one author/creator for each work nominated must be a member of the SOGI Caucus of CSCA. Only articles, book chapters, or artistic works with a 2019 publication date (as listed on the work) or debut presentation date are eligible. 

The James W. Chesebro Award for Scholarly Distinction honors a scholar in the field who has made a notable contribution to the study of sexuality, especially in consideration of sexual orientation or gender identity. The winner of this award will receive a special keepsake. The recipient of this award must be a member of CSCA.

Please note that self-nominations are welcome!

The winners will be featured in a special panel at this year’s CSCA convention. In order to nominate, you must be a current member of the SOGI Caucus; and all scholarship receiving an award must have a SOGI Caucus member as an author/editor/creator.

Nominations are due no later than January 22, 2020.  

Printer-Friendly Version