Complete Story


Call for Nominations: CSCA 2021 Warren Mentorship Award

Call for Nominations: CSCA 2021 Warren Mentorship Award

The Central States Communication Association is now accepting nominations for the 2021 Warren Mentorship Award.

The award, named in honor of the late and beloved Dr. John T. Warren, recognizes a mid-career scholar who exhibits some of the many virtues John himself exuded as a mentor, scholar, and engaged member of the discipline. To that end, those who are nominated should excel in all aspects of their careers—teaching, research/creativity, service, and engagement—but first and foremost demonstrate excellence as a mentor.

Nominees for this award must (a) at least be in their 11th year of full-time academic work beyond their terminal degree but within their first 15 years; (b) be members of the Central States Communication Association at the time of application; (c) agree to attend the conference the year the award is presented; and (d) have an exemplary record of mentoring, research/creativity, service, and engagement.

To be considered for the Warren Award, nominees must electronically submit a packet as a single PDF file. This packet should include the following items, arranged in this order: (1) a letter of nomination (self-nominations are welcome); (2) a teaching philosophy statement, not to exceed two pages; (3) evidence of teaching and mentoring excellence, not to exceed ten pages, that can include sample assignments, teaching evaluations, course syllabuses or descriptions, or other materials that indicate teaching and mentoring excellence; (4) a statement that summarizes the candidate’s program of scholarship, not to exceed one page; (5) a complete list of all publications, exhibits, grants or fellowships, and research/creativity awards; (6) a complete list of service contributions at the department, college, university, and disciplinary level; and (7) a one-page statement that documents engagement or impact beyond the classroom.

The materials must be received by December 15, 2020. Please submit the packet (or any inquiries) to: Lara Martin Lengel at, with “Warren Award” in the subject line. All applications submitted by the deadline will receive an email response confirming receipt of the working PDF file.
The recipients of the Warren Award are recognized at the CSCA 2021 Convention Hall of Fame Awards Luncheon and Business Meeting.

Previous recipients of the Warren Award:

Leslie J. Harris, University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee

Jimmie Manning, University of Nevada-Reno 

Nicholas Zoffel, Sierra College 
Kelly Michael Young, Wayne State University

Printer-Friendly Version