Complete Story


CSCA - Call for Nominations - Warren Award

2022 CSCA Warren Award Call 

The Central States Communication Association is now accepting nominations for the 2022 Warren Mentorship Award. 

The award, named in honor of the late and beloved John T. Warren, recognizes a mid-career scholar who exhibits some of the many virtues John himself exuded as a mentor, scholar, and engaged member of the discipline. To that end, those who are nominated should excel in all aspects of their careers—teaching, research/creativity, service, and engagement—but first and foremost demonstrate excellence as a mentor. 

Nominees for this award must (a) at least be in their 11th year of full-time academic work beyond their terminal degree but within their first 15 years; (b) be members of the Central States Communication Association at the time of application; (c) agree to attend the conference the year the award is presented; and (d) have an exemplary record of mentoring, research/creativity, service, and engagement. 

To be considered for the Warren Award, nominees must electronically submit a packet as a single PDF file. This packet should include the following items, arranged in this order: (1) a letter of nomination (self-nominations are welcome); (2) a teaching philosophy statement, not to exceed two pages; (3) evidence of teaching and mentoring excellence, not to exceed ten pages, that can include sample assignments, teaching evaluations, course syllabuses or descriptions, or other materials that indicate teaching and mentoring excellence; (4) a statement that summarizes the candidate’s program of scholarship, not to exceed one page; (5) a complete list of all publications, exhibits, grants or fellowships, and research/creativity awards; (6) a complete list of service contributions at the department, college, university, and disciplinary level; and (7) a one-page statement that documents engagement or impact beyond the classroom. 

The materials must be received by December 1, 2021. Please submit the packet (or any inquiries) to: Lance Lippert at, with “Warren Award” in the subject line. All applications submitted by the deadline will receive an email response confirming receipt of the working PDF file. 

The recipients of the Warren Award are recognized at the Hall of Fame Awards Luncheon and Business Meeting. 

Chair: Lance Lippert, Illinois State University
Vice-Chair: Andrew Donofrio, Columbus State University
Joy V. Goldsmith, University of Memphis
Dacia Charlesworth, Indiana University
Nancy Curtin, Millikin University

Printer-Friendly Version